Let's explore the universe, multiverse, and beyond!

What Are Chakras?

By on December 4, 2016 in Healing

what are chakras

By: Ginny Marston

Very often in the healing and spiritual world you will hear a reference to Chakras. For those not familiar with them they are where the energy in our body flows from or, in essence, our energy centers.

The word itself comes from the sanskrit word for ‘wheel’. If you translate it from Hindi, it means “wheel of spinning energy”. Visualize a swirling energy power, like a tornado. Your body is like several tornados of energies! Our bodies have 7 major “energy centers” and several more minor ones as well.

Our chakras need to be recharged, much like when we plug in our cell phones when the battery is low. Luckily the energy we need to recharge our chakras comes from the universe’s energy and is available all the time.

Chakras control or maintain the flow of energy throughout our physical bodies’ electrical network, which connects our physical and spiritual bodies. Unfortunately sometimes our Chakras become blocked due to physical or emotional problems that we have. When this happens we often feel “out of balance” both physically and mentally.

As per the chart below, these are where the Chakras are located in our bodies.

what are chakras

Chakra 1 – Root

Is located at the base of your spine in the tailbone area, closest to the earth. It is our “root” representing our foundation and of feeling grounded. It is associated with your lower extremities (legs and feet), bones, adrenal glands and large intestine. If blocked, it may manifest as fear, paranoia, feeling defensive or procrastinating. When balanced we feel safe, supported and grounded.

Chakra 2 – Sacral

Is located in the lower abdomen between your spine and your navel. This one is about the connection and ability to accept others, pleasure and new experiences, our emotions. It is associated with the lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system and the reproductive organs and glands. If blocked, it may manifest as emotional problems, obsessive traits, sexual guilt or compulsive behavior. When balanced we are able to commit, to take risks and are passionate, outgoing, and comfortably sexual.

Chakra 3 – Solar Plexus

Is located in the upper abdomen, in the stomach area. This one is about our self-confidence, self worth, and even our self-esteem. It is associated with our digestive system, pancreas, muscles and adrenal glands. If blocked, it may manifest as feeling lost and like a victim, frustration, and anger. When balanced we feel self-compassion, in control, confident, and self respected.

Chakra 4 – Heart

Is in the center of the chest within your heart. This one is about our ability to love. It is associated with the lungs, heart, arms, hands, and thymus gland. If blocked, it may manifest as lack of compassion, jealousy, suffocation, fear of loneliness. When balanced we feel joy, gratitude, love, and compassion; we forgive easily and trust is gained.

Chakra 5 – Throat

Located within the throat. This one is about our ability to communicate. It is associated with the neck, shoulders, upper extremities (arms and hands), parathyroid, and thyroid glands. If blocked, it may manifest as difficulty with communication of ones needs with others, dishonesty, and no will power; feeling out of control. When balanced we communicate freely, are honest and truthful, and are good listeners.

Chakra 6 – The Third Eye

Located in the center of your forehead. This one is about our ability to focus, see the big picture, and to question our spiritual nature. It is associated with our intuition, inner vision, and wisdom. If blocked, it may manifest as problems such as depression and living in a dream world with exaggerated imagination. When balanced we feel focused, clear, and we can determine truth versus illusion. We are open to receive wisdom.

Chakra 7- The Crown

Is located at the top of your head. This one is about our ability to be fully connected spiritually. It invokes inner and outer beauty, and pure bliss. It is associated with our cerebral cortex, pituitary gland, and central nervous system. If blocked it may manifest as inability to learn, sensitivity to light, sound, environment, and confusion. When balanced, we have a trust in our inner guidance and live in the present moment.


After reading this you may feel that more than one of your Chakras are blocked or imbalanced, which is not uncommon. When we have a blocked/imbalanced Chakras our other Chakras attempt to compensate to create balance. These other Chakras become over or under active, which give us the impression of multiple blockages/imbalances. The best way to start clearing your Chakras is to start at the Root Chakra and work your way to the Crown Chakra.

I hope that this article has helped with your understanding of Chakras and how they pertain to our physical and spiritual wellness. Stay tuned for my next article on how to cleanse your Chakras!

More articles by Ginny Marston!

mommaAbout the Author: Hello, my name is Ginny. I am originally from Long Island, NY but now live in beautiful Florida. I am a Registered Nurse, a healer by nature. Having worked in trauma, I have been with those at the time of passing as well as given comfort to their families. As a child and teen I exhibited special gifts but they faded as my life journey went to raising a family and having a career. It wasn’t until my Grandmother, and then Father, passed that I yearned to be able to see and speak to them to ensure they were at peace and to tell them the things that I wished I had when they were here on Earth. On October 10, 2016, I tragically lost my youngest daughter, Christina. This led me to ‘go down the rabbit hole’ with my grief, pain, and the empty place in my heart only Christina could fill. The note that I laid with her was “You will never be alone as at the time of your death a piece of my heart died with you.” Many of my spiritual friends began to reach out to me, I began to look for signs she was still here with us, and channeled my energy to go back in time to renew my gifts so that I could not only speak with Christina, as I had with my other passed love ones, but to also learn more about her new journey. Christina’s and my journey are just beginning and I hope to share not only my journey with her but how you too can connect with your loved one. Follow us on Facebook!

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author

About the Author: .


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Comments are closed.

Free Numerology Report